So appy! New My Very Own Name iPad app!

November 4, 2011 at 7:09 am 12 comments

The world of children’s book publishing is changing, as the iPad and other tablets allow publishers to take customization and interactivity to a whole new level.

We are SO APPY to announce the release of our very first personalized iPad app, My Very Own Name! The app is based on our award-winning My Very Own Name personalized storybook. This innovative app changes the story and even the illustrations each time, depending on the child’s name that is entered. This level of extreme customization, accompanied by interactivity and learning, is a sign of what our newest generation of children will come to expect of their bedtime story.

In the My Very Own Name app, a forest of animals comes alive, and animal characters bring letters one by one to spell out the child’s very own name in rhyme. The child has the fun of catching the letters of his or her name as they appear from behind trees and rocks in the scenes of rolling hills. Throughout this beautifully illustrated story, the child is encouraged to trace the letters of his or her name, find hidden animals to add to his or her interactive zoo, and learn fun facts about animals.

I wrote the My Very Own Name book ten years ago to celebrate the uniqueness of each child, and to teach children letter recognition and how to spell their names. Allan and I wanted to extend the experience of our classic book by creating an interactive app for toddlers and preschoolers, to bring the book alive and encourage the child to read the book over and over again by making it fun as well as educational.

Allan and I connected with our digital partner to develop the My Very Own Name app in the spring of 2011. It was an exciting, fun and highly creative experience. Our eldest son, Austin, even got involved in the development process and helped contribute ideas and enhancements to the app, such as the “my Zoo” area.

Our team also met with Amy Susman-Stillman, Ph.D. and Co-director of the Center for Early Education and Development (CEED) and the University of Minnesota to ensure the app was reviewed from a child-development perspective. Amy loved the app and said, “I’m careful when it comes to how technology plays a role in the lives of young children. Here, I am impressed with what I See Me! has created to extend the pre-literacy learning opportunities for young children.  The My Very Own Name app gives toddlers and preschoolers the opportunity to explore the letters of their name in fun, engaging ways so that they will be motivated to keep on learning the alphabet and the wonderful world of words.  Parents looking for an age-appropriate educational app to promote pre-literacy skills will be pleased with the My Very Own Name app.”

The app can be downloaded for $4.99 on the Apple store at: http://itunes.apple.com/app/my-very-own-name/id476463738?mt=8  We are SO APPY about this new release. And, we hope you come and get appy with us too!

Entry filed under: Announcement. Tags: , , , .

Editing new manuscript

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. maiahaag  |  August 19, 2012 at 5:41 pm

    Thanks so much for your nice post! I hope that your nephew enjoys his Pirate book and personalized pirate bandana! I also read your Facebook post saying that you’d like to review our books on your blog. You will be contacted by Anita in our company about that. I gave her your email address headacheslayer@gmail.com. Thanks again! -Maia

  • 2. thecraftyangel  |  August 19, 2012 at 5:57 am

    I just found out about your AMAZING books thru The Rosy Snail–and I cannot WAIT to get the pirate set for my soon-to-be 3yo nephew! You are brilliant and your illustrator is simply fantastic!

    I remember LOVING my personalized books as a child (I have them somewhere–and I’m 42 lol). These are simply magical. I love giving books to my nephew so I’m sure I will be a long-time customer!

    I’ll be sure to tell his mom about the App!

  • 3. maiahaag  |  July 9, 2012 at 6:25 am

    Melissa, thanks so much for your nice feedback! We are passionate about our books and we work hard to make each one as high quality as we possibly can. We really appreciate your feedback! -Maia

  • 4. maiahaag  |  July 9, 2012 at 6:23 am

    Thank you, Amanda! We worked hard to develop an app that is both educational and entertaining. We appreciate your feedback! -Maia Haag, CEO

  • 5. Amanda  |  June 30, 2012 at 12:54 pm

    This app looks really great for young children. And, I can definitely see how it would be beneficial to children on the autism spectrum. You have combined a child’s natural fascination of identity as well as learning into an app. (I have yet to meet a child who was not fascinated with herself and her name). Bravo!

  • 6. Melissa Lester  |  March 1, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    What a great idea! My daughter Emma received a copy of My Very Own Fairy Tale as a first-birthday gift, and we still cherish it now that she is 6. Your passion really comes through in your work.

  • 7. maiahaag  |  December 3, 2011 at 10:35 am

    Hi Kristi, thanks for your very nice feedback about our books! I’m so glad to hear that you love “My Very Own Name” and “A Christmas Bear for Me” for your son. We would love for you to review our My Very Own Name iPad app! I have forwarded your email address to one of our employees Anita who will be in touch with you to provide information about the app. Thanks again for your nice comments! -Maia

  • 8. maiahaag  |  December 2, 2011 at 2:42 am

    Thanks, Kelly! If you buy some books for your children, I hope that they enjoy them for many years! -Maia Haag

  • 9. Kelly Tanner  |  December 2, 2011 at 12:39 am

    I LOVE your books! I want to buy them for my children.

  • 10. Kristi  |  November 29, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    Hi,

    I am a new mom and a pediatric occupational therapist. My sister bought my four month old son “My Very Own Name” a few weeks ago as a baptism gift and I LOVE it beyond words!!! I just ordered “A Christmas Bear for Me” and can not wait to give it to him this Christmas!!! I think your books will be my new staple shower and birthday gift for all mommies to be and children!!!
    As an occupational therapist I do very extensive work on the ipad with my clients (most of whom are on the autism spectrum) and do a monthly app review for the parents of my clients. I would love to add your app to my list for review and would most likely make it my February “app of the month” as I have not chosen one for that month just yet.
    If there is any information that you could share with me regarding your app that would be great. I do my reviews based on five different measurements and then I give an overall rating of 1-5 stars for the clients. I would love to speak with you more about your book series as well as the app, as I am sure that many of my clients will LOVE what you have created. Please contact me at KristijoanOTR@aol.com and hopefully we can set up an opportunity to touch base so that I can share as much information as possible with my clients families.

  • 11. maiahaag  |  November 22, 2011 at 4:20 am

    Hi Melanie,
    Not in the near future. Thanks for your interest in our app! We had a great time working with the development firm to develop it.
    Maia

  • 12. Melanie  |  November 21, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    Any chance we’ll be seeing a android version of the app soon?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Return to iseeme.com

Return to keep shopping.


